The Department of For-Hire Vehicles has made available for any black car vehicle - if both the vehicle and the operator are licensed either by Maryland or Virginia - to apply for a Special Permit to provide point-to-point service in the District of Columbia provided the operator and vehicle are in compliance with the applicable provisions of Chapter 8, 10, 12, and 14, as well as the requirement in Administrative Issuance AI 2017-003A for pooled-riding during peak hours.
Non-District operators and vehicles other than those licensed in Maryland or Virginia are not eligible to participate. The Department may allow operators to purchase up to two (2) decals each. The administrative fee for a special event vehicle decal shall not exceed one dollar ($1.00) per day. An operator providing service pursuant to a special event permit who violates any provision of Title 31 shall be subject to a civil fine for operating a public vehicle for hire without a vehicle license. A decal shall be subject to immediate suspension if the operator takes a street hail or engages in false dispatch. You may submit an online application for the Special Event Decal here.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How long will the Safetrack Special Permits be available?
Answer: The opportunity for Safetrack Special Permits will be available until WMATA completes its Safetrack rail work or DFHV terminates program through an Administrative Issuance. A schedule of the Safetrack rail work can be found at the following website: https://www.wmata.com/service/SafeTrack.cfm.
2. How long can I have a permit?
Answer: The DFHV Special Permits are available for 45 days and 90 and can be renewed, consecutively, only once for the same amount of days.
3. My Special Permit is about to expire or has expired, how do I renew it?
Answer: In order to renew your special permit, you must go to the website and start new application and submit all required information.
4. How much is the permit?
Answer: The permits are $45 dollars for the 45 days period and $90 for the 90 day period. Funds are to be paid when permits are picked up. Money Orders or Credits Cards only. Cash is NOT accepted.
5. I am a Maryland and Virginia driver, can I do point to point passenger pick up in DC
Answer: Yes, Maryland and Virginia drivers can conduct point-to-point service in the District; however, during METRO’s peak hours, Maryland and Virginia drivers must conduct ride sharing. During non-peak peak hours, Maryland and Virginia drivers can do single rides. The NDL Permit allows non-District registered vehicles to conduct point-to-point service in the District
6. What is a dispatch service provider and who are they?
Answer: Dispatch Service Providers are listed here.
7. How many Special Permits am I allowed to have?
Answer: Operators may receive two permits and companies are allowed to purchase as many Safetrack Special Permits as they like provided that they submit all requisite documents regarding the vehicle and driver with the application.
8. How do I apply for the Special Permit?
Answer: The Special Permits application must be completed and submitted online. The Department will not accept any documents in hard copy. The online application is available here.
9. How long does it take to get approval for the Special Permit?
Answer: Approval of Special Permits generally takes 24 hours or less provided that the application is complete. Applications are processed in the order in which they are received.
10. Will my Special Permit be mailed to me or given in an email?
Answer: No, Special Permits can only be picked up at the DFHV Offices located at 2235 Shannon Place, SE Washington, DC 20020, Suite 2003 during the hours of 8:30 to 3:30 Monday through Friday.
11. What documents are needed for the application
Answer: Required documents include, but are not limited to driver’s license, your VA or MD for-hire permit or license, vehicle information, etc. Please see application for specific requirements.
12. Who may pick up the Special Permits from DFHV once they have been approved?
Answer: The applicant or designee may pick up the permits. The applicant must provide the designee with the authority to pick up the permits. Designees may be a listed driver or runner.
13. If my application is denied, what can I do?
Answer: If your application is denied, please review the response that has been provided to you via e-mail, correct/resolve the denial reason and resubmit your application. If you continue to have difficulty, please either email at [email protected] or please call us at 202-645-6018.
14. Where should I place the Special Permit Sticker on my car?
Answer: Place the Special Permit sticker on the outside of the rear window where it is visible.